Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Virulent Depravity
Fruit of the Poisoned Tree
April 2017
Released: 2017, The Artisan Era
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

2017 has already proven itself to be a pretty generous year for quality death metal, but there’s been a conspicuous absence any real hyper-technical, blow your mind kind of records. I’d speculate that it’s because the phalanxes required to run all of those scales take longer to thaw from the bitter cold of winter, but I’m still working on my dissertation to prove that.

But alas, springtime is upon us, and so is the first worthy tech-death album of the season - Virulent Depravity’s FRUIT OF THE POISONED TREE. Featuring 10 tracks of non-stop, pants crapping virtuosity, it’s the equivalent of Obscura freebasing Necrophagist records.

There aren’t many real “riffs” in the traditional sense to be found across FRUIT OF THE POISONED TREE; each tune is comprised of a seemingly endless thread of spider webbed notes, blast beats, and cataclysmic musical collisions. It’s almost like Virulent Depravity intentionally set out to create an album more complicated than Ninja Gaiden Black, drawing a line in the sand and shutting down any potential haters with total sensory assault. As obviously skillful as the Nashville trio is, this approach lends itself as both an asset and a liability. When the band reigns in some of the musical spasms and tightens the delivery just a smidge, tunes like “Your Demise”, “Bad Drug” and “Beyond the Point of No Return” resonate significantly more so than the alternative. But being force fed 12 minutes of back to back competing arpeggio scales at over 200 bpm, one tends to become numb to the shred emanating from your speakers.

FRUIT OF THE POISONED TREE may not be as compact or accessible a record as some genre faithful might be accustomed to, but it’s still an impressive display of technical prowess deployed at a manic pace. And as the first legit tech-death volley of the season, we should all be okay with that.
Track Listing

1. Serpentine Messiah
2. Spineless Obedience
3. Your Demise
4. Desecrating Eden
5. Fruit of the Poisoned Tree
6. Bad Drug
7. Beyond the Point of No Return
8. Only Human
9. Mechanized Defilement
10. Crushed by Futuristic Filth


Colin Butler – Guitar, Bass, Vocals

Malcolm Pugh – Guitar

Kevin Paradis – Drums

Other reviews

» Fruit of the Poisoned Tree
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » Wounded Giant - Vae Victis
Previous review: » Victorius - Heart Of The Phoenix

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.