Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Blood Divisions
Cardinal One
May 2017
Released: 2017, Metal Blade Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

What do you get when you put some of metal’s biggest and most talented artists together along with Chris Jericho (Fozzy, WWE), Dave Austin (Nasty Savage) and Ed Aborn (Intersonic Cyber Symphony)? You get Blood Divisions’ not too surprisingly rocking EP , “Cardinal One.” Featuring a “Who’s who” of modern Metal with current and formal members of Deicide, Obituary, Iced Earth, Six Feet Under and even The Trans-Siberian Orchestra. There is no lack of talent here. And to top all this off all of the proceeds of the supergroup’s EP go to “Rock and Rescue, “ a charity that helps find homes for dogs. That’s enough there for me to want a copy.

I have to admit, I’m a little late to the game with the musical career of Chris Jericho. I had always wrote him off as just another celebrity attempting to use their previous success towards a musical career. (I’m looking at you Shaq) Jericho has some genuine Metal talent here and his vocals are on point with the rest of this album.

Speaking of the album itself, “Cardinal One,” is mostly a covers album featuring reworking of such 70’s classic groups as, The Scorpions and UFO. The EP starts out with the Nasty Savage’s epic, “The Morgue” which showcases some impressive work on Jericho’s part with vocal ranges from a silent whisper to a warrior yell. “Hot n Ready” is one of the best track included as Blood Division performs this classic UFO with their balls to the wall. “Top of the Bill” is a classic Scorpions song from the group’s early days that a perfect fit for this album.

Two original tracks are included here, “Return to the Garden of Terror’ and “No Sympathy.” Both songs are instrumentals, but do not let the lack of vocals keep you from giving these songs a listen. “Return to the Garden of Terror,” has a slow psychedelic build that becomes more ‘spaced out” and finishes with a stomping march. “No Sympathy,” is a shorter track and has a really cinematic feel to it. It feels right at home on any Final Fantasy soundtrack (Big plus in my book)

This is a fun EP that will get you rocking and leads itself to multiple listens. When you add in the fact that all purchases help a great cause, there is no reason not to pick this one up.

Review by: Andrew Risch
Track Listing

1. The Morgue

2. Hot n Ready

3. March of the Machine

4. Top of the Bill

5. Return to the Garden of Terror

6. No Sympathy


Vocals: Chris Jericho

All other instruments performed by Various

Other reviews

» Cardinal One
by UK Team

Next review: » Cage - Ancient Evil
Previous review: » Blessed Curse - Beware the Night

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.