Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Burning Point
The Blaze
March 2017
Released: 2016, AFM Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

After being away since 2012, Burning Point really kicked my ass in 2015 with their self-titled return. It served not only as a reintroduction into the band’s fiery (ha!) power metal but also powerhouse singer Nitte Valo who took over the lead vocals from band leader Pete Ahonen (who still plays guitar and writes music). Their latest album, THE BLAZE, was released late-November 2016.

With Valo firmly entrenched at the mic, THE BLAZE is poised to expand on what the band offered with 2015’s BURNING POINT. Indeed, while this album does contain several trademark high-speed power metal cuts, Ahonen and co. have wisely seen fit to develop their sound, using the more mid-paced tracks to try out some interesting ideas, like the dirge-like “My Spirit” or the soaring “Dark-Winged Angel”. Cool stuff, to be sure, but it’s the up-tempo near-thrash tracks that make Burning Point stand out and they do no disappoint; shredders like “Master Them All” and “Chaos Rising” will rip your face off.

Incidentally, “Chaos Rising” contains one hell of a mean performance by Valo. I know I gushed about her in my review of BURNING POINT, so I’ll just say this: Wow. She kills it on every single song. Listening to her singing Lee Aaron’s classic “Metal Queen”, and you just think “yep, she is”.

Bottom line, THE BLAZE is mandatory listening for anyone who likes their power metal saddled with a huge set of balls. Yeah, you can sing along to the songs but this is music built for head banging first and foremost. Some big congratulations to Ahonen and the band for creating such vital power metal nearly 20 years into their career.
Track Listing

1. Master Them All
2. The Time Has Come
3. Incarnation
4. My Spirit
5. The Lie
6. Dark Winged Angel
7. Chaos Rising
8. Lost in Your Thoughts
9. Things That Drag Me Down
10. The King is Dead
11. Metal Queen


Nitte Valo: Vocals
Pete Ahonen: Guitar
Pekka Kolivuori: Guitar
Jarkko Vaisanen: Keyboards
Sami Nyman: Bass
Jussi Ontero: Drums



Other reviews

» Salvation By Fire
by Rick

» Feeding the Flames
by Night of the Realm

» Feeding The Flames
by JP

» Feeding the Flames
by Rick

» Burned Down the Enemy
by Anders Sandvall

» Burned Down the Enemy
by Mortuai

» Empyre
by Rick

» The Ignitor
by JP

» Burning Point
by Waspman

» The Blaze
by Waspman

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.