Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Savage Playground
February 2013
Released: 2013, Frontiers Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

I’ve been looking forward to this album for a while now. I first heard Crashdiet a couple years ago with their incendiary GENERATION WILD album in 2010. The album was, and remains, one of the most energetic & exciting sleaze rock albums I’ve ever heard. Obviously then, THE SAVAGE PLAYGROUND was high on my “must hear” list in 2013, inflamed even more when I heard the awesome advance single “Cocaine Cowboys”.

So, now that I’ve heard the album many times, what do I think? I think it’s a damn fine sleaze rock album that doesn’t quite reach the excitement level of its predecessor. If you can never go back, I guess it’s reasonable to assume that now that I know what to expect from Crashdiet, anything I hear won’t be quite as exciting as it once was. That said, THE SAVAGE PLAYGROUND is a great album that’s packed with catchy songs with memorable riffs and choruses. The youthful exuberance the band displayed on past releases is still evident on songs like “Anarchy” and “Got a Reason” (I still love those “gang” chorus vocals) and the snarling “Lickin’ Dog”.

The band finally has achieved some continuity in the lead vocal spot as Simon Cruz once again brings his charismatic style to front the band. Martin Sweet (no relation to the Stryper brothers obviously, but it would be hilarious if he was!) is the other unquestioned asset of the band with his sizzling solos. The continued stability of the band is obvious in the rhythm section as well as both Peter London and Eric Young are rock solid backliners.

I’m not sure there is such a thing, but if there was a mature sleaze rock album, this would be it. THE SAVAGE PLAYGROUND is as entertaining an album as you’re likely to hear this year.
Track Listing

1. Change the World
2. Cocaine Cowboys
3. Anarchy
4. California
5. Lickin’ Dog
6. Circus
7. Sin City
8. Got a Reason
9. Drinkin’ Without You
10. Snakes In Paradise
11. Damaged Kid
12. Excited
13. Garden of Babylon


Simon Cruz: Vocals
Martin Sweet: Guitar
Peter London: Bass
Eric Young: Drums



Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.