Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Primal Exhale
July 2005
Released: 2005, Sound Riot Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Rick

A few months ago I reviewed a sampler from Excalion and even though I was kind of indifferent to the bands music I promised that I would wait till I heard the CD before I made my final judgment on the band. Well here it is a scant few months later and I have the bands debut full length and the task of judgment is now at hand. One of my complaints with the bands previous sampler was the pathetic sound quality which didn’t allow me the opportunity of hearing the band properly but I am happy to say that the sound is cleared up immensely and Excalion benefit from it.

“Temptation Wasteland” opens the disc strongly with a midpaced assault that leads into the albums centerpiece “A Moment in the Spotlight”. This song features swirling keyboards that accent the traditional metal feel of the track. All of the songs from the promo sampler are rerecorded and included on the full release and again the speed of “Reality Bends” makes a great counterpoint to the “Spotlight’s” mid tempo swirl. The band even throws in a ballad with the song “Heart and Home”. The song that sees the most improvement because of the rerecording is “My Legacy”. The sound is now crisp and clear befits a band that is climbing the metal ladder.

Sound Riot Records is certainly choosing their bands wisely. Ghost Machinery, Unchained and Memorized Dreams are all great bands and now Excalion can be added to the powerful roster that the label is gathering. Excalion might be a little rough around the edges and they certainly don’t offer anything new but they are a solid unit that has an amazing upside.
Track Listing

01 - Temptation Wasteland
02 - A Moment in the Spotlight
03 - Reality Bends
04 - Dire Waters
05 - Stage of Lies
06 - Heart & Home
07 - Megalomania
08 - My Legacy
09 - Obsession To Prosper


Jarmo Pääkkönen - Vocals
Jarmo "Jappe" Myllyvirta - keyboards
Henri Pirkkalainen - Drums
Tero Vaaja - Guitars
Kimmo Hänninen - Guitars
Timo Sahlberg - Bass



Other reviews

» Promo 2004
by Rick

» Primal Exhale
by Rick

» Waterlines
by Chaosankh

» High Time
by Thorsten Zwingelberg

» Dream Alive
by JP

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.