Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Glenn Hughes
February 2017
Released: 2016, Frontiers Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

After spending much of the last decade in a band format with Black Country Communion and California Breed, Glenn Hughes is back in the solo zone with 2016’s RESONATE. It’s The Voice of Rock’s first new solo effort since 2008’s FIRST UNDERGROUND NUCELAR KITCHEN. Any time Hughes lends his talents to an album, it’s a reason to take notice.

Spoiler alert: RESONATE appeared in our Metal Rules Best of 2016 list (#24), so it’s safe to say we liked it. It may have placed even higher if I had the opportunity to vote for it but due to lack of time, I didn’t get a chance to hear it until January 2017, after the votes were cast. That said, RESONATE is a hell of an album! It’s easily one of Hughes’ heaviest efforts to date, a fact belied by the grinding groove of opening cut, “Heavy”. It’s followed by the stomping “My Town”, where Hughes puts in a nice & angry performance. Speaking of the man himself, Hughes sounds fantastic as always with no decline in his vocal skill. Even at the age of 65, he remains one of THE best singers in music.

Musically, this is phenomenal stuff. I’m not familiar with any of the players (aside from Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith) but they all perform flawlessly, particularly guitarist Soren Andersen. But the star of the show is Hughes. He wrote the music, plays the bass, sings all the vocals, and uses the album as a vehicle for his irresistible charisma. While definitely a heavy album, Hughes doesn’t abandon his roots and love for soul & funk music. Right near the end, “When I Fall” brings the R&B while “Landmines” is about as funky as a song can get and still be called rock. There’s something for all of Hughes’ fans offered but he definitely brings the rock this time out.

RESONATE deserves every bit of praise that has been thrown at it – this is Glenn Hughes at his best. This album is definitely one of the highlights of 2016.
Track Listing

1. Heavy
2. My Town
3. Flow
4. Let It Shine
5. Steady
6. God of Money
7. How Long
8. When I Fall
9. Landmines
10. Stumble and Go
11. Long Time Gone


Glenn Hughes: Vocals, Bass, Acoustic Guitar
Soren Andersen: Guitar
Lachy Doley: Keyboards
Pontus Engborg: Drums
Chad Smith: Drums on “Heavy” and “Long Time Gone”



Other reviews

» Building The Machine
by Pete

» Soulfully Live In The City Of Angels
by Anders Sandvall

» Soulfully Live In The City Of Angels (DVD)
by Anders Sandvall

» Soul Mover
by Anders Sandvall

» Live in Australia – CD
by Anders Sandvall

» Live in Australia (DVD)
by Anders Sandvall

» First Underground Nuclear Kitchen
by Anders Sandvall

» Resonate
by Waspman

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.