Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Tequila Suicide
May 2017
Released: 2017, AFM Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Venerable Teutonic rocker Mat Sinner is back again, taking a slight break from Primal Fear and his many other projects to release his 18th studio album under his Sinner brand. The band’s lineage goes all the way back to the early ‘80s with 1982’s WILD ‘N’ EVIL being the debut. With TEQUILA SUICIDE, Sinner has brought Primal Fear guitarist Tom Naumann back for his third tour of duty, along with PF drummer Francesco Jovino and member since 2011, guitarist Alex Scholop.

As expected, TEQUILA SUICIDE is chock full of the hard rockin’ heavy metal Sinner is known for, with Mat’s rough n’ tumble vocals leading the charge. Heavy rockers with anthemic hooks are the band’s bread and butter and they follow their formula to serve up 10 highly edible morsels. Kick off cut “Go Down Fighting” sets the stage with a slightly punky riff o’er which Sinner gets nostalgic with a lyric about perseverance in the face of declining fortune. Other topics range from war (“Battle Hill”), relationship issues (“Dragons”), and partying (“Gypsy Rebels”). Musically, the band bashes ‘em out; for a bunch of musicians this experienced, the album has an admirable “loose” quality to it. Check out the barely on the rails title track for proof. Aside from the blues cut and the closing ballad, the music is uniformly heavy, giving fans plenty to head bang to while Sinner spins his tales.

Sinner is one of those reliable bands that pleases their fans without making bad albums – if you like any of their albums, you will also enjoy this one. Great stuff that fans of any Mat Sinner’s other projects can effortlessly enjoy.
Track Listing

1. Go Down Fighting
2. Tequila Suicide
3. Road to Hell
4. Dragons
5. Battle Hill
6. Sinner Blues
7. Why
8. Gypsy Rebels
9. Loud and Clear
10. Dying on a Broken Heart


Mat Sinner: Vocals, Bass
Tom Naumann: Guitar
Alex Scholop: Guitar
Francesco Jovino: Drums



Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.