Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

April 2013
Released: 2013, Earmusic
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: JP

Stratovarius is really experiencing a resurgence. After the Timo vs. Timo battle, money problems, legal problems, label changes and personnel changes, the band have put out three excellent albums since the self-titled in 2005, an album many consider to be the low point in the bands career. For example the average of 11 reviews on Metal-Archives puts the self-titled STRATOVARIUS album at a mere 49%!

I can say with conviction that NEMESIS is the best Stratovarius album since INFINITE. The lineup is pretty stable with Lauri and Matias really settling in over the last three studio albums. It would be pretty tough to replace Jorg Michael who sat on the throne for 18 years but new drummer Rolf Pilve (ex-Dreamtale) does an admirable job. The production is crystal clean and clear and the album cover is gorgeous…a flying naked chick with a sword and nuclear explosions? That is 100% Metal! Of course NEMESIS continues the bands own tradition of one-word album titles for the 10th album in a row.

Musically NEMESIS really gets back to the sound of the 'classic' era of 1995-2000 and the unparalleled five album run (FOURTH DIMENSION, EPISODE, VISIONS, DESTINY, INFINITE) they had that took them to the top of the Metal food chain. The album is fast, heavy, loaded with ripping guitar solos, blazing keyboard solos, and a sense of fun has been re-injected into the harmonies and melodies. In. The press there has been some talk about a supposedly 'modern' sound but I'm not really hearing it. Production and sound evolve over time and as this band has gone through at least four distinct phases now, so of course NEMESIS is going to sound different from their debut in 1989!

The individual performances are excellent as Timo puts forward his best work on years. Catchy, fun, heavy and dynamic, NEMESIS is everything a fan of the band could want.
Track Listing

1. Abandon
2. Unbreakable
3. Stand My Ground
4. Halcyon Days
5. Fantasy
6. Out of the Fog
7. Castles in the Air
8. Dragons
9. One Must Fall
10. If the Story Is Over
11. Nemesis


Timo Kotipelto Vocals
Matias Kupiainen Guitar
Lauri Porra Bass
Jens Johansson Keyboards
Rolf Pilve Drums

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.