Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Devenial Verdict
April 2017
Released: 2016, Self Released
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

2014’s CORPUS EP was a fun exercise in moshcore leaning death metal, but Helsinki’s Devenial Verdict are aiming for something more substantive on their latest release, SOULTHIRST.

Out of the gate, you’re confronted with a very different take on the band’s sound. The eerie build-up to “Thrones” eventually gives way to restrained, mid-tempo riffs, discordant chord progressions and some impressive percussion signatures. Vocalist Riku Saressalo still sounds like he’s gargling razor blades, but he’s finessed his growl into more structured vocal patterns which go a long way in helping the guide the tune. If you’d compare “Thrones” against “The Hour is Late for Traitors” from CORPUS, you’d almost think these were two entirely different bands.

“Fall of Faith” settles back into more of the deathcore crush of the band’s past, but sweep picking and the doomy exterior of the tune almost give it a Gorguts or Tucker-era Morbid Angel vibe. “Sun Hammer” absolutely rips as a straightforward OSDM tune, accelerating the pace of the album into the like-minded “The Corinthian”. “Despoiler” closes SOULTHIRST as a sort of bridge between Devenial Verdict’s past and present, selectively resurrecting some of the breakdowns and slam into their new recipe, but it’s less of a crutch this time around than it is a point of emphasis.

What a difference a couple of years can make, eh? Whether it was a conscious change of pace or a natural maturation for Devenial Verdict, SOULTHIRST is a totally satisfying collection of death metal tunes that should please fans of both old and new schools. Check out Devenial Verdict’s Bandcamp page for a listen and purchase info.
Track Listing

1. Thrones
2. Fall of Faith
3. Sun Hammer
4. The Corinthian
5. Despoiler


Okko Tolvanen - Drums
Riku Saressalo - Vocals
Sebastian Frigren - Guitars
Antti Poutanen – Bass

Other reviews

» Corpus
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» Soulthirst
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » Edenbridge - A Decade And A Half (DVD)
Previous review: » Death Requisite - Revisitation

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.