Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Unruly Child
Can't Go Home
April 2017
Released: 2017, Frontiers Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: John Haseltine

With a family tree that reads like a ‘best of’ book in the who’s who of melodic rock genre, the members of Unruly Child are back with their latest release, CAN’T GO HOME. Unruly Child come at the listener with eleven sizzling tracks much in the fashion of their roots with a contemporary, classic rock, and AOR flare that shows there truly is a reason why Unruly Child are hailed as “the most legendary melodic hard rock band ever!”

Leaning more towards the melodic on this one than hard, we see Unruly Child regrouping with the original line-up from the debut for CAN’T GO HOME. With a line-up that consists of: Marcie Free ( King Kobra, Signal, Bruce Gowdy (Stone Fury, World Trade), Guy Allison (Logic, World Trade, Doobie Brothers), Jay Schellen (Hurricane, World Trade, currently touring with Yes), and Larry Antonino (Pablo Cruise), the musicianship and level of writing by Unruly Child are unmatched.

CAN’T GO HOME is a very consistent offering from start to finish. It is a release that adds well to the genre and to the bands discography well. It comes off a bit softer than previous releases by the band, but can still hold its head above water. Each track does grab the listener and makes you pay attention especially with the catchier, upbeat standouts “Get On Top”, “Ice Cold Sunshine”, and the album closer “Someday Somehow”.

I cannot say that this album is out of this world, but it is definitely one to take notice of. For the fans out there, I do hope there is more to come from Unruly Child. With an invigorated new (original) line-up, Unruly Child seems to be set on taking the world by storm! Once again.
Track Listing

1. The Only One
2. Four Eleven
3. Driving Into The Future
4. Get On Top
5. See If She Floats
6. She Can't Go Home
7. Point Of View
8. Ice Cold Sunshine
9. When Love Is Here
10. Sunlit Sky
11. Someday Somehow


Marcie Free – Vocals
Bruce Gowdy – Guitars
Guy Allison – Keyboards
Larry Antonino – Bass guitar
Jay Schellen – Drums



Other reviews

» Worlds Collide
by JP

» Can't Go Home
by John Haseltine

Next review: » Victorius - Heart Of The Phoenix
Previous review: » Tumourboy - Damage System

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.