Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Nightmare Future
August 2017
Released: 2017, Relapse Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

Repulsion’s 1989 lone, now classic studio album HORRIFIED was a once in a lifetime kind of thing. There were a lot of reasons why there wasn’t ever a proper follow up, but 30 years after the fact it’s probably best that there wasn’t. Now heralded as one of the best death/grindcore albums of all time, it’s unlikely that anything new released under the Repulsion brand would be able to stand up against such a revered predecessor.

Thankfully, we have Explusion to give us a taste of what new Repulsion material in 2017 could've sounded.

The brainchild of founding Repulsion guitarist Matt Olivo and Exhumed’s Matt Harvey (who also has a dotted line to the Repulsion family himself), Expulsion’s debut NIGHTMARE FUTURE is true HORRIFIED-inspired radiation sickness. Gems like “Total Human Genocide”, “Mask of Fear” and the title track annihilate convincingly close to their source material, full of rapid fire blasts and raging Olivo hyper riffs, sounding like they could’ve existed on a lost Repulsion demo from the 80’s. Given that Olivo is a creative bridge between past and present, it kinda makes sense.

NIGHTMARE FUTURE blitzes front to back in under 15 minutes, which is fun while it lasts but leaves you feeling a bit “that’s all?” when it’s over. Given that Olivo still actively tours with Repulsion and the rest of Expulsion is juggling at least half a dozen other bands at any given moment, it’s anybody’s guess if NIGHTMARE FUTURE is intended as a one-shot deal or if there’s more material waiting at the ready. Either way, Expulsion delivers exactly what you’d expect on NIGHTMARE FUTURE, and Repulsion fans should be driven to insanity about that.
Track Listing

1. Total Human Genocide
2. Altar of Slaughter
3. Mask of Fear
4. Nightmare Future
5. Funeral Bells
6. Compulsions
7. Comatose


Matt Harvey – Vocals, Guitar
Matt Olivo – Guitar
Danny Walker – Drums
Menno Verbaten - Bass

Other reviews

» Nightmare Future
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » Fairytale - Battlestar Rising
Previous review: » Excalion - Dream Alive

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.