Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

January 2018
Released: Nove, Self Released
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Well, to be honest from the beginning, this is one of the heaviest folk albums I’ve heard. “RapThor” is the name of the newest album from Nordheim, Canadian folk metal band, whose members just want to have a blast on their record.

Quebec’s folk metalheads are back with a new album since their last one in 2013. While sharing stages with Alestorm, Korpiklaani, Finntroll, Havok and others, Nordheim released their third album. The band members themselves said that this is one of their heaviest albums, in which I agree, comparing it to their previous albums, and mainly with the folk albums. Having influence in the melodic power, and death metal scene, they successfully managed to get all three genres into one album. The album has mainly folk elements, but the heavy riffs, breakdowns and the vocals spice the folk up to aggressive drum beats and raging guitar riffs.

The negative side of the mix of all the mix is that sometimes it can get a little too much for a folk record. The change of vocal type can sometimes seem not so satisfying and can sound not so ear pleasing.

All in all the album is a good peace of heavy folk metal with every component that you can think of.

Review by: Kire Jovanovski
Track Listing

1. Troll Riding A Raptor (4:32)
2. Boobs And Bacon (3:30)
3. Scroll Of Lightning Bolt (4:55)
4. Black Witch Rises (5:27)
5. I Wish You Were Beer (2:05)
6. Strength Became The Storm (5:24)
7. Blood's Shade (5:22)
8. Dragonthorn (9:34)


Warraxe (Lead Vocals, Guitar)
Benfok (Bass, Back Vocals)
Fred (Lead Guitar)
Lucas (Drums)

Other reviews

» Lost In The North
by JP

» Refill
by JP

» RapThor
by UK Team

Next review: » Operation Mindcrime - The New Reality
Previous review: » Mortishead - Totality

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.