Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

January 2018
Released: 2017, My Kingdom Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

This review is long overdue! This is our first review of a Dragonhammer album. It’s strange because I know the band, I like the band I have most of their albums, but for whatever odd reason, I’ve never reviewed a Dragonhammer album until now!

Italy’s Dragonhammer have been around for almost 20 years but have never been very productive. They churned out a couple of quick albums in 2001 and 2004 and then took long 10+ year break which didn’t help their momentum. They returned with a fairly low-key album in 2013 and now almost another four years later they have released OBSCURITY.

Still signed to My Kingdom Records the band has some line-up changes to report. They expanded from a quintet to a sextet, replacing the drummer and adding a second guitarist. Dragonhammer employ a classic Italian Power Metal sound, emphasis on clean production values and guitar tones, powerful soaring vocals, and predominately fast songs. This album is a double-kick drummers dream. There are some nice keyboards tones all across the songs and some good guitar vs. keyboard battles like the epic trade-off battle heard on the song, ‘The Game Of Blood’. The songs are pretty conventional in the four to six minute range with good choruses and good hooks. To break up the largely fast album, there is a beautiful ballad called ‘Remember My Name’, but it is not a cover of the House of Lords song. Long time singer Max has a very nice voice able to switch between styles nicely and on the ballad he almost has a bit of a David Coverdale tone and delivery, which is a sincere compliment.

I really enjoy this record, but I can also see that it went unnoticed in many year-end lists in 2017. They might be lacking a little in personality, perhaps getting lumped in with 100 other bands in this style. Perhaps the title of OBSCURITY is an indication of the destiny of the band? I hope not, it would be a shame for Power Metal fans to miss out on this fine record.
Track Listing

1. Darkness Is Coming
2. The Eye of the Storm
3. Brother vs Brother
4. Under the Vatican's Ground
5. The Game of Blood
6. The Town of Evil
7. Children of the Sun
8. Fighting the Beast
9. Remember My Name
10. Obscurity


Max Aguzzi Vocals, Guitar
Flavio Cicconi Guitar
Giulio Cattivera Keyboards
Gae Amodio Bass
Andrea Gianangeli Drums



Other reviews

» Obscurity
by JP

Next review: » Drakonis - The Great Miasma
Previous review: » Destruction - Thrash Anthems II

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.