Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Secret Sphere
The Nature Of Time
July 2017
Released: 2017, Frontiers
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: John Haseltine

The latest masterpiece by Secret Sphere is here! Haha. For those of you out there who are fans of Secret Sphere, you will rejoice with this new offering by the band. I hadn’t had a chance to listen to Secret Sphere before so this is my first rodeo.

A first rodeo I must apologize for. As most may know, Secret Sphere is a symphonic metal band from Italy. For me, the ‘symphonic’ part of the genre has always been a bit confusing. I have and still do like many bands in the genre, but how it gets defined these days, well you know. They are those symphonic moments, but here, it seems a bit easier to just say melodic metal. It suits. So like I said, I am not real familiar with the previous works by Secret Sphere. And while I feel there is a great talent here, and THE NATURE OF TIME is a well-rounded and solid release, it is not going to be top of my list. Maybe it is a bit too melodic at times. Then again, there are moments in tracks like “Courage”, and ”Faith” that make me take a second look as they do pick up the pace a bit. As does the epic track “The Awakening” which is a standout track for me. I know I am putting out a review for this and I am still a bit torn on how I should react. On the very first listen it came off as a nice and mellow to melodic metal album. A few more listens in, just melodic. Maybe there is not enough time to fully appreciate this one. Or maybe for me anyway.

If you have a flair for some of the more melodic side of metal, this is a good release. It has several mushy ballads on it but also has its edgier moments here and there. Each track is very well done, but as a personal thing, the slower moments seem to get the skip button rating. I am glad I got a chance to listen to Secret Sphere as they are a good band and I do enjoy this album.
Track Listing

1. Intermission
2. The Calling
3. Love
4. Courage
5. Kindness
6. Honesty
7. Faith
8. Reliance
9. Commitment
10. The Awakening
11. The New Beginning


Andrea Buratto Bass
Aldo Lonobile Guitar
Gabriele Ciaccia Keyboards
Michele Luppi Vocals
Marco Lazzarini Drums

Other reviews

» Sweet Blood Theory
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» Archetype
by Robert Williams

» Portrait Of A Dying Heart
by Erich

» Portrait Of A Dying Heart
by Waspman

» A Time Never Come-2015 Edition
by JP

» One Night In Tokyo
by Brat

» The Nature Of Time
by John Haseltine

Next review: » Shroud Eater - Strike the Sun
Previous review: » Scalpel - Methods to Delusion

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.