Featured Events

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

March 2017
Released: 2016, Lacerated Enemy Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

You can’t put borders on brutality. With its contingency spread across 3 continents, Wormhole is like the United Nations of slam death metal, which I guess would make GENESIS their charter? Whatever you want to call it, it’s some heavy duty multi-national brutal death metal.

Boasting a tightly compacted 27 minutes of guttural snarls, blast beats, pig squeals, and just enough 7-string canoodling to keep things interesting, GENESIS delivers exactly what you want out of this kind of record; a heavy on the hits, light on the filler platter of sonic sickness. GENESIS flirts openly with knuckle dragging caveman breakdown type jams and more tech savvy, riff centric material. That particular dance can be tougher to pull off than you’d think; too far to the left and you’re Emmure, too far to the right and you’re Origin. But the way Wormhole mixes it up across the album’s 8 tracks makes for a pretty smooth listen. With tracks like “Nurtured in a Poisoned Womb” and “Existence Gap,” you’re not left with any doubt that these guys could stir up all kinds of pit karate, but gems like “Symbiotic Corpse Possession” and the sci-fi instrumental “Geoform 187” grab your attention with a level of structural complexity and melodic inclination that you’re not at all prepared for.

For a debut record manufactured across the internet, GENESIS is a pretty phenomenal accomplishment. Plus, there’s a Spaceballs reference tucked in between the tunes which shows that they have good taste as well. Too much of this kind of death metal gets lost in tough guy posturing or how offensive your album cover can be, but Wormhole plays to their strengths, allowing the music to say everything that needs to be said.
Track Listing

1. Nurtured in a Poisoned Womb
2. Battle Logic Disrupted
3. Symbiotic Corpse Possession
4. Automated Distress Signal
5. Geoform 187
6. Gravity Manipulation Unit
7. Genesis Chamber
8. Existence Gap


Sanil Kumar - Guitars
Sanjay Kumar - Guitars, Bass
Calum Forrest - Vocals
Duncan Bentley – Vocals

Other reviews

» Genesis
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Previous review: » Witherfall - Nocturnes And Rquiems

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.