Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Crazy Lixx
Ruff Justice
May 2017
Released: 2017, Frontiers Records
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: Carla (Guest reviewer Denmark/Romania)

I just came from a well-deserved vacation in LA where I’ve been enjoying some old school tunes. Getting my hands on Crazy Lixx’s new album got me a prolonged vacation. Channeling the Sunset Strip, these Swedish sleaze style hard rockers created an amazing fifth album that I may or may not be fan-girling all around.

“Ruff Justice” is all about harmonic vocals and melodic guitar lines. Opening the album is “Wild Child” that starts with a creepy night-time stir and just like that the guitars kick in. This wild child is a solid modern sleaze track that sets the bar quite high for the entire album. Don’t stress, even with a bar set up high, these guys delivered masterfully. “Walk the Wire” could very well be the soundtrack of one of those ‘I-moved-to-LA-to-become-famous’ style movies, something like Rock of Ages, which don’t get me wrong, I really liked, which makes me wonder if my inner groupie is waking up after a long long sleep.

“Killer” is more of a horror-themed hard rock song and I believe I’ve read somewhere that it was written for “Friday the 13th – The Game”. It’s a bit different than everything else on the album, it starts with a clean guitar tune and soft vocals, but a minute and something in, what you could have sworn it was a ballad, turned sideways and we have a mid-tempo tune, that goes up and down till the end.

“Hunter Of The Heart” I think is my favorite from this album, it has an offbeat groove that I absolutely adore. It’s your classic ‘mistress man eater’ rock tune that makes me think somewhat of “Voodoo Woman”. If I wouldn’t have been a fan of the genre, I would probably still go to see Crazy Lixx live only for this song – it’s that catchy.

Essentially, I’ve given my two cents on the album in the paragraphs above, I could talk more about it but I believe I would start repeating myself too often. Yes, this album is amazing, yes, you should buy it, and yes, you should go see them live. “Ruff Justice” is pure Crazy Lixx, ass-kicking sleazy hard rock, lovely melodies and choruses to sing-a-long for days and days, that came right in time for summer.
Track Listing

1. Wild Child
3. Walk the Wire
4. Shot with a Needle of Love
5. Killer
6. Hunter of the Heart
7. Snakes in Paradise
8. If It's Love
9. Kiss of Judas
10. Live Before I Die


Danny Rexon : Vocals
Chrisse Olsson : Guitar
Jens Lundgren : Guitar
Jens Sjöholm : Bass
Joél Cirera : Drums



Next review: » Cryonic Temple - Into The Glorious Battle
Previous review: » Corpus Diavolus - Atra Lumen

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.