Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

May 2017
Released: 2017, Haunted Zoo Productions
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

The Finnish melodic death metal band Noumena are back with their 5th full-length album, Myrrys. The band calls this new effort “a celebration of 90s melodic death and melancholic Finnish mollie tunes” and this is their first album which is entirely in Finnish. They made the album this way to help express themselves the way they wanted and to be closer to their cultural heritage. The backside of this is that if you can't speak Finnish you'll be unable to understand a single word. This is also the second album with Suvi Uura, who adds some softer touch to the band with her clean vocals.

I have mixed feelings about the cover art. It means that I like it but I don't think it fits with a melo-death album. The bear kinda reminds me of a Tim Burton character. This is the only negative thing I can say about the whole album. I am not a big fan of this kind of death metal, but I enjoyed every second of Myrrys. The album's not going to change the world but if you are a fan of Finnish melodic death you have to have it, as it's a decent example of its genre. Parts reminded me of early In Flames while others sound like Korpiklaani. The sound is really, really good. It's impossible to say anything bad about the production done by Dan Swanö.

I have to mention the acoustic parts of Myrrys cause they add a special atmosphere to the album. The song 'Murherhuone' is a good example for this. This slower song is my favourite from the album; Suvi's vocals are amazing and when combined with the growls of Antti it really takes me to a different place.

As I wrote before, for fans of the genre this will be a good album - not as good as Noumena's previous one - but it's worth a listen for everyone.
Track Listing

01. Kohtu
02. Metsän Viha
03. Kirouksen Kantaja
04. Sanat Pimeydestä
05. Sanansaattaja
06. Roihu
07. Murhehuone
08. Pedon Veri
09. Syvällä Vedessä


Antti Haapanen - growls
Suvi Uura - vocals, growls, piano
Ville Lamminaho - guitars, mandolin
Tuukka Tuomela - guitars
Hannu Savolainen - bass
Ilkka Unnbom - drums

Other reviews

» S/T
by Waspman

» Myrrys
by UK Team

Next review: » Popoff, Martin - Hit The Lights! (Book Review)
Previous review: » Nightrage - The Venomous

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.