Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

With All Their Might
September 2017
Released: 2017, Unique Leader Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Peter Atkinson

England's Dyscarnate deliver all the muscle and weight of America's Whitechapel, but with half as many members. The threesome's heavy as fuck third album, With All Their Might, more than lives up to its title thanks to its swaggering grooves, brawny riffs and forceful vocals. And while its overall sound – a fusion of modern metal, death metal and deathcore that seems more the work of any army than a trio - doesn't exactly reinvent any wheels, its crushing power and unwavering vehemence cannot be understated.

Like the dude on the album cover, the band bring the hammer down from the get-go with "Of Mice And Mountains" and really don't let up. And though they don't offer much in the way of nuance here – everything sounds really, really pissed off and the emphasis almost always is on bombast over atmosphere, even on the comparatively dramatic "Traitors In The Palace" on the more epic closer "Nothing Seems Right" – Dyscarnate will give you the kind of sonic beatdown you won't soon forget. These guys don't make idle threats.

The wall of guitar here is simply massive. Concentrated, deliberate and utterly concussive, the hooks from Tom Whitty just keep on coming – who knows how many guitar tracks there may actually be on any given song, suffice it to say it's probably a lot, unless Whitty has a second or third set of arms. And when accentuated by a dense, heaving bottom end, things only sound that much more immense, especially when the tempos kick up on "Backbreaker" and "All The Devils Are Here."

Whitty and bassist Art Llewellyn tag-team the vocals here, and sound like a two-headed attack dog with their burly growls and piercing shrieks delivered with, to borrow the album's title, "all their might." But that's about the only way they could be heard above the din.

For all of its heaviness, though, With All Their Might is rather one dimensional. The tone and delivery varies only by a matter of degrees as the album thunders along. And while Dyscarnate ultimately win the day with sheer brute force, a little more depth and variety could have made things that much mightier.
Track Listing

1. Of Mice And Mountains
2. This Is Fire!
3. Iron Strengthens Iron
4. Traitors In The Palace
5. To End All Flesh Before Me
6. Backbreaker
7. All The Devils Are Here
8. Nothing Seems Right


Tom Whitty - guitar, vocals
Al Llewellyn - bass, vocals
Matt Unsworth - drums

Next review: » Epica - The Solace System
Previous review: » Dutchguts/Chained to the Dead - Split

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.