Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Live At Masters Of Rock
September 2017
Released: 2017, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: John Haseltine

I know Korpiklaani have been around for some time now, but did not figure when this one came across that it would be the first live release. But they are also a band I do not follow. I have a couple of their previous releases and I’d say ten years ago or so when the folk-metal phenomenon was hitting the U.S. here I never got caught up in it. At the time, and I hate to put it this way, I felt they all were a bit too similar.

I know that Korpiklaani have set themselves apart from the heard, so to speak, with their highly energetic, alcohol inspired folk-metal. And with the listening of this album, it disappoints me a bit. It disappoints me that I have not given them more spins in the player over the years. For what they do, they do better than most. I actually went through the boxes and pulled out some of the folk-metal releases I have and randomly listened to several bands to get the feel. And I do really like Korpiklaani in this live setting.

This release comprises of a DVD and 2 CDs consisting of two live shows. One of the discs being in 2014 and the other being captured in 2016 at the Czech Republic’s Masters of Rock festival. As you can see by the track listing below, there is over two hours of material covering plenty of current releases as well as the bands classics. Sonically, this is what a live album should sound like. True and energetic. They did minimize the crowd a bit as not to overwhelm the music. Other than that, a great sounding set by a band that is great at what they do.
Track Listing

Disc 1

1. Intro (Tanhuvaara)
2. A Man With A Plan
3. Journey Man
4. Pilli on pajusta tehty
5. Erämaan ärjyt
6. Lempo
7. Sahti
8. Ruumiinmultaa
9. Vaarinpolkka
10. Viima
11. Metsämies
12. Kultanainen
13. Kipumylly
14. Ämmänhauta
15. Rauta
16. Kylästä keväinen kehto
17. Wooden Pints
18. Vodka
19. Beer Beer

Disc 2

1. Intro (Tanhuvaara)
2. Tuonelan tuvilla
3. Ruumiinmultaa
4. Metsämies
5. Kantaiso
6. Juodaan viinaa
7. Petoeläimen kuola
8. Sumussa hämärän aamun
9. Vaarinpolkka
10. Kultanainen
11. Uniaika
12. Louhen yhdeksäs poika
13. Uni
14. Vodka
15. Ievan polkka
16. Rauta
17. Wooden Pints
18. Pellonpekko
19. Happy Little Boozer


Jonne Järvelä - vocals, guitar, hurdy-gurdy & percussion
Tuomas Rounakari - fiddle
Sami Perttula - accordion
Jarkko Aaltonen - bass
Cane Savijärvi - guitar
Matson Johansson - drums



Next review: » Low Flying Hawks - Genkaku
Previous review: » Jack Starr's Burning Starr - Hold Your Ground

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.